April 29th

First day of work as a nurse.

I woke up extra early and way before my alarm, which I assumed was a positive start to my day. My brother was in the shower so I knew that I’d have to wait so in this time I got my outfit ready.

I hate wearing clothes that I used to wear for placement. I just feel like a student again and it’s deffinatly not fun. Then I realised that the black trousers I bought a couple of months ago are now very big for me – I’ve deffinatly not lost any weight so god knows how this has happened.

I set off at 8:00am and made the drive to work. It took me about 40 minutes to get there and my satnav ended up taking me down the weirdest and windiest route ever.

The whole day literally consisted of me doing absolutely nothing. I didn’t do anything that a nurse would do. I wasn’t shown any medication, I wasn’t shown any paperwork, I spent no time at all with any nurses at all.

The only fun part of the whole day is that I went on a ramble with two service users and one of the Occupational Therapists. We just walked around the countryside for over an hour.

I also realised how much people annoy me. I hate when I start a new job because I can’t be myself. I can’t just go straight into how I am normally because I don’t want people to get the wrong end of the stick and I want to kind of weigh up people first.

I just feel like I’m not being myself and that I’m not enjoying it and wont enjoy it until I feel like I fit in and feel comfortable.

Day 1 of Nursing – Not as good as originally thought.

Leave a Reply

