May 14th

Today was one of the most stressful days I’ve had at work.

Started at 7:00am, as soon as I walked onto my ward, I had to clean up some poo. Now not a small bit, ALOT!

Then I was left on the ward for a bit on my own – that was annoying.

Then a patient screamed (I’m on a male unit so this was a massive shock!) because he couldn’t turn the television over.

Then before I left I had to go through hundreds of CDs with a patient to make sure that his inventory was correct – it wasn’t.

I didn’t do anything nursey at all – it was ridiculous!

I’ve not even been given a preceptor yet and I’ve been here 3 weeks. I’ve not been told what my role is, I’ve not been told how the wards run. How is anyone meant to be a nurse if you don’t have a frigging clue what you’re meant to be doing?

It’s such an odd job and I just feel like I’ve been left with people who don’t really know what they’re doing.

There’s so many things that need addressing – I can’t wait for my first supervision!

Leave a Reply

