Break Ups and Take Backs

I was speaking to a friend recently who had broken up with their girlfriend of over a year. He told me that they had given him all of the presents and gifts he had bought her over the time they’d been together.

It made me think about my break ups and I realised I have always kept everything my ex boyfriends have bought me.

If you’ve read my previous posts, you will know that I’m a bit of a hoarder of sentimental items – or clothes (but that’s not for this post). It made me think of all the things that I’ve kept over the years and still use or keep because they have a bit of meaning for me. Not in a creepy bunny boiler kind of way though.

My first ever boyfriend bought me a charm bracelet for my 17th birthday. I used to wear it every day and I absolutely loved it. I loved it so much, it’s currently sat in my jewellery box right now looking beautiful and cute.

He also bought me the first ever charm for my Pandora bracelet. Obviously that is still on my bracelet as again, it is beautiful and I love it.

I did however give away a pair of River Island boots that he bought me literally last week. I was clearing out my wardrobe – which was much needed- and came across my beautiful cowboy inspired boots which I worked out I had owned for 7 or 8 years. He bought me them for Christmas when I was 16/17 years old and they were still in perfect condition. I thought I’d be a grown up and I decided to give them away to my friends daughter who loves boots. I couldn’t quite bring myself to throw them away, but giving them away made it all feel better.

I also have quite a lot of things that my last boyfriend bought me. We had been together for 3.5 years and bought each other a lot of presents in that time. We were both in university and working so had money to splash out when we wanted.

I have literally about 10 Pandora charms which again are all still on my bracelet. Why would I take them off if they make it look amazing?! I also have quite a few dresses and again I have a pair of boots he bought me!

I did not give these boots away though and I wouldn’t even dream of throwing them away. They are an amazingly beautiful pair of boots from All Saints which cost around £250. They are so comfortable and look fabulous that I will keep them forever. I actually think this is the most expensive present I have ever received.

It’s amazing how many things we collect over the years through different people, whether that be family, friends or partners.

Why should people give back presents or gifts because a relationship ends? The relationship wasn’t ending when the gift was bought or when the thought went into it.

They are living memories. Things that remind us of who we are and how we got there.

Embrace it!

– My friend did actually give his girlfriend the gifts back. Mostly because she demanded he give her everything she had bought him and when he said no, she wanted all of her presents back again. Awkward.

One thought on “Break Ups and Take Backs

  1. Shannon says:

    I’ve kept stuff too in the past. I’ve gotten rid of things to when it was a messy ending or I just didn’t feel any sort of sentimental value in it anymore. I’ve never demanded anything back though Oo

Leave a Reply

